Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

Then and Now

• 613 posts
    August 4, 2016 9:28 AM PDT

Last 4 posts are awesome!   Just awesome! 

Ox

• 2756 posts
    August 4, 2016 9:43 AM PDT

A: I like mechanic#1. Can we discuss it?

B: No point. Mechanic#1 is proved to ruin MMOs. You are effectively asking for Pantheon to be a mediocre mass-market sell-out by suggesting it.

A: Are you sure? I really don't think it will have that much effect and the pros out-weigh the cons, I believe.

B: No, you just don't understand the genre or industry. I've been playing MMORPGs for 172 years and don't like mechanic#1 and Professor C says mechanic#1 is evil in his blog at http://www.thosethatcando.com

A: But surely we can just discuss it and perhaps someone will come up with something that addresses the issue but doesn't have the negatives you fear?

B: No. What you're saying smacks of compromise and even the smallest compromise ruins everything. You compromisers will ruin Pantheon if you keep demanding that you get everything your way.

A: I really don't think I was asking for everything my way, just that we discuss alternatives to mechanics that not everyone likes or even some completely new mechanics.

B: Why would you want alternatives to mechanics that veteran players like? We know what is best.

A: But Pantheon is in pre-alpha. Can't we discuss what we like?  There's lots of scope for change and additions.

B: Pantheon is based on EQ and VG and won't change anything that made EQ or VG good (which is everything). No point discussing anything not in EQ/VG and certainly not things that were in other RPGs.

A: This feels a unfair, but I'm not a professional debater or an experienced keyboard warrior, so I can't really say anything more without fear of being beaten down.

B: You prove my point completely.  Your opinon is worthless if you can't back it up with several different logic techniques and withstand relentless criticism.

A: Won't this put people off the game?