Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

The first warning bell..

• 76 posts
    June 10, 2016 12:40 PM PDT

Aradune said:

Well, even though I've been posting and interacting with MMO communities for 18 years or so, there are still lessons to be learned.

First, after serious thought and discussion, I'm not going to stop putting out our ideas even if some people might extrapolate in the wrong direction, or resort to alarmism or hyperbole.  You guys pay to be able to post here and interact with us, to be part of the development process, and we take that seriously (and this relationship will actually become more crucial not less as we get farther along in development).  I don't want to just post quick, glib, or inane comments here and there -- I want to be able to bring serious and often detailed ideas to you all.  I also don't want to just 'preach to the chior' and avoid potentially volatile topics.  In fact, I do want to stir up the pot... within reason, of course.

So I need to be clearer about things.  Clearer that these ideas are not final or set in stone.  Clearer in my descriptions.  Even provide examples of what I don't mean.  I need to try to think ahead as to what someone in the community might get out of what I've written or what could be taken out of context and try to address possible concerns up front (or, at least, as soon as possible with a reply in the thread).  

We are determined to both create a game in the spirit of the games we've worked on in the past but to also move the genre forward, to implement ideas we've had for years but have never had the opportunity to implement as well as fairly new ideas.  This could even include ideas from other games where we feel the idea was sound but perhaps the implementation not so hot.

And we remain commited to bringing these ideas to you, even this early in development, to get your feedback.  

Oh, and I have a new .gif I will be using:

'

thanks all,

-Brad