Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

Community Debate - Instancing in MMORPG's

• 392 posts
    May 11, 2021 8:20 AM PDT

Simply put its a slippery slope once you start using it.

I tihnk MMOs need an intervention.

• 248 posts
    May 11, 2021 8:57 AM PDT

To me the whole point of playing an mmorpg is to play with other people in a shared world. Instancing takes people out of the world and leaves it empty and boring.

-sorte.

• 690 posts
    May 11, 2021 11:49 AM PDT

Grimseethe said:

Currently watching the April roundup.

Hearing that the intention is to make all dungeons and raids open world is deeply troubling.
    Ive been playing MMOs for over 20 years and in that time i've noticed one thing, people get more toxic every year.
    While i hope a more oldschool MMO attracts a more mature audience, there are always some that ruin it.

So my question is, what will classed as toxic behavior when people are camping bosses, tagging bosses and running away, and in pvp servers killing raid teams for fun.

I personally find the idea of competing for bosses absolutely horrible, it will add hours to every dungeon/raid in a bad way.

The current stance is that camps don't exist.

If someone kills something you were trying to get, and then, when you run away from that "kill stealer" to a different rare spawn spot(because that's all you can do when it comes to DKP farming big guilders), and that kill stealer chases you to kill your new target, it is then considered personal attack and punishable by the overlords of Pantheon.

Basically, it only counts as toxic if it is personal.

Raid guilds on the other hand will have much more protection, I know they will solely get FTE(First to Engage). I don't know what the current plan is for tagging bosses and running away but I assume that it is "personal" once it gets repeated. I don't think killing raid teams for fun will ever be punished, but I could be wrong.