Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

Unity Engine and Combat Mechanics

• 613 posts
    May 6, 2016 3:29 PM PDT

The unity engine is in wide use out there and I was wondering how the Devs are going to use it? I have a ton of examples of game combat types but was not sure where the team was going post the last video? I know it is early and there was a ton of place holder mechanics in there and was curious to what the vision for the mechanics will be? The game environment is rich already and was basically wondering if the combat mechanics will be that good also?

I am not a game designer but I do see the potential this game has at this early state and it looks fantastic. I am hopeful the combat and movement and will match the for an overall encompassing package.

I know details are slim but your vision would help me understand where the game is going graphically and mechanically.

Just looking for discussion on direction and possibilities.

Ox

This post was edited by Oxillion at May 6, 2016 3:29 PM PDT
    • 38 posts
    May 7, 2016 2:10 AM PDT

I feel the FAQ and the stream gave away quite a good overview of how combat is going to work. I think the main placeholders would be animations and graphics, also abilities will change but I feel we can guess how they are going to function.

Can casting a spell fail or ‘fizzle’?

Spells have a chance to fizzle or do less damage because of a resist and this applies to both players and NPCs. We feel this will add an additional level of tactics, knowledge, and challenge.

How will targeting work?

There will be both offensive and defensive targets. Beneficial spells and abilities will be directed toward your defensive target, while harmful spells and abilities will be directed at your offensive target. Some spells and abilities, primarily area-of-effect spells, will involve targeting the ground or area around your foes.

Is there an auto-attack and if so, how will it work?