Forums » Off-Topic and Casual Chatter

a game worth considering to kill time

• 112 posts
    December 5, 2016 7:05 AM PST

Overwatch.  Personally I started playing it thanksgiving break and have found it enjoyable, think WoW teams pvp but with a variety of classes (16 total) and at the same time simplified controls with a typical character having a primary fire, alternate fire, special #1, special #2, and an ultimate.

I know it's not a mmo, but I would assume a good number of players here have dabbled in other games before.  That aside, there are multiple class types to play in the game if you are just assuming it's a straight-up shooter.  A lot of it is twitch gaming, but there are melee characters and healers as well where you just need situational awareness and some competent teammates in order to have fun.

Either way, try it or don't, figured I'd share what I've found to help pass the time while waiting patiently ;)

• 2886 posts
    December 5, 2016 7:17 AM PST

Overwatch is definitely solid. Can't deny that Blizzard makes clean games. But myself and everyone else I've talked to about it agree that it gets boring fairly quickly. There is almost no sense of progression, so after the initial allure of the game wears off, there's not really any motivation to keep getting better and therefore it's pretty easy to just stop playing. So it's very fun for a little while, but it doesn't totally suck you in like an MMO will.

Edit: It's pretty much the same exact problem as No Man's Sky.

This post was edited by Bazgrim at December 5, 2016 7:18 AM PST
    • 668 posts
    December 5, 2016 7:20 AM PST

Taking advantage of the post and title...

There are a bunch of us playing EQ2 under the guild "Voices of Terminus", learning to play together and building up our toons to raid in a bit...  Have to say, quite fun and taking up a good amount of my time.