Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

Ability Rotations and Hotbar Management

• 116 posts
    March 18, 2016 9:41 PM PDT

I didn't see any previous threads on this so I wonder.

What is the Pantheon take on the management of hotbars and ability rotations?  In EQ1 we had lots of spells but could only memorize 8 at a time.  I thought that was perfect.  In newer MMO's you could use all of your abilities whenever you wanted and the result was hotbar insanity.  4 and 5 hotbars on the screen at a time and spell rotation min maxing.  I got to the point where I didn't feel like I was playing the game, instead I was playing my hotbars.  I was playing 'whack a mole' with cooldowns.

It destroyed the immersion that I wanted to feel for a living and breathing virtual world.  I want to 'see' the raid boss I am fighting and 'experience' the fights or any other encounter for that matter.  I don't want to constantly be starting at my cooldowns waiting for them to pop.

I hope that Pantheon aims for a comfortable medium here.  In the twitch stream I did see multiple hotbars which at first worried me a little until I realized that they were duplicates of each other (they showed the same spells and in the same order), so I assume that one was for clicking and the other was for cooldown visibility or maybe some other alpha testing purpose I couldn't divine.

• 25 posts
    March 18, 2016 10:19 PM PDT

I think you will have maximum 10 abilities/spells at times but your spellbook will contain many spells like EQ1.

From the past broadcast, I figured the vertical hotbar had 10 slots (Spells Gem) while the horizontal hotbar had 12 slots and those probably serve for skills like kick / autoattack or macro. Pretty much like EQ1 was.

• 1468 posts
    March 18, 2016 10:40 PM PDT