Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

Hoodini to Gaia question

• 144 posts
    October 18, 2021 9:07 AM PDT
    With the recent dev stream announcing the switch to Gaia from Hoodini I have some questions. From what it sounds like, and from what I heard on the Pantheon Plus recap, it sounds like what was already accomplished with hoodini will STILL be used and will not have to be recreated with Gaia. So it's literally just a straight switch of using Gaia now instead of Hoodini. So, kind of like cooking a steak with a cast iron skillet (hoodini) and then just switching that steak into a stainless steel pan (gaia) to finish cooking it. That's great we won't lose progress. However, how nicely will these zones/textures/items play well with each other? I'm not a computer programer or understand any of that stuff. I can list things for sell on ebay without kicking my dog 90% of the time. That's my skill level. But I do know that sometimes if you have different types of computer files meshed together they sometimes don't play nice with each other. Are there any potential problems we could run into in the future with such things like adding mods or addons in the game if for example most of kings reach is made with hoodini, but then the rest of the world is made with gaia? I'm sure you guys have already thought about this and its a no biggie, but I dont know enough to know if its an issue or not. It would be such a pain to start on another continent, get my custom ui or whatever other addons are allowed, and then when I zone into kingsreach or another zone that was made with hoodini, now my addons are broken. Or any other issues that could arise like that. Curious minds want to know.
    • 144 posts
    October 18, 2021 10:24 AM PDT
    Sorry, I had paragraphs in there, but when it posted it somehow changed to a giant paragraph and I. Not sure how to edit.
    • 49 posts
    October 18, 2021 11:18 AM PDT