Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

The effort to develop the Perception System

• 226 posts
    April 12, 2021 1:49 PM PDT

By trade I am in software development. Though, I help run a massive internet security company, not a gaming company, I know the effort that goes in to making software. I mention this because I have being thinking about the cycles VR must be spending on the Perception System.

The Perception System seems really cool. I am certainly looking forward to it. But recently I wondered, is it worth it? The first time we experience it, I have no doubt we will all “ooh” and “awe”. We will love it. But will that last? Will there be reply value for alts? Or, will we already know where all the things are that we should “perceive”? I wonder if, after experiencing the Perception System for 10, 20 or 30 levels, will we not find it as interesting? Is so, my question is, is it worth it?

Obviously VR feels it’s worth it, they are rolling it out. I would be curious to know the amount of time, resources and dev cycles spent on this system. Due to my job, I am constantly in scrum meetings about cutting product features to meet deadlines and budgets. It’s a never ending internal battle that I am sure VR has every day. As awesome as the Perception System is, I do ponder the need for a system that might not have a lot of value after a few experiences. But, perhaps I am way off and it will turn out to be the key differentiator from other MMO’s. I am not making an predictions, I could be way off. Just makes me wonder.

• 2756 posts
    April 12, 2021 2:04 PM PDT

I have wondered myself.

If it is leveraging a lot of the task/quest system, and I imagine it is, then that's good.

If it is intended as a much more immersive and mysterious 'replacement' for the modern MMO quest 'guide' system (lighted trails and floating exclamation remarks) then that's good.